Book Review

The Moonstone (Enchantment #1) by Evelyne Contant

rsz_1470934775187

29241744
Cover: I LOVE IT! (It was the cover that made me pick this book.)
Precisely: I LOVED IT
Voice: I loved the writing/narration
Characters: LOVE ’em
Plot: The Chosen one, Prophesy, Tragic/Forbidden Love
Page Turner: After 30% – YES
Recommended To: Every YA Paranormal Lover
Book Boyfriend: (It’s a secret- but the one Lou loves)
Love Triangle: Yes (reasonable)
Format: E-Book (Author gave me in exchange of an honest review)

 

rsz_1470934382391

Fear, love… and betrayal; that’s what I feel about my new life.
It’s a life I never asked for, at least not like that.

I certainly dreamed of adventure, of escaping from my ordinary life, but nothing prepared me for what would happen when my normal life flipped upside down.

On that fateful day, a witch, a real one, revealed to me that I’m not human! That’s right, I, Lou Mills, am an enchanter like her! It seems that I’m the key to an ancient prophecy and that I must save the world from the imminent war between humans and enchanters. What waits makes no sense; in fact, nothing seems to make sense to me since meeting her.

And then there’s this man…dark and mysterious…but so attractive. If only I could forget him. Duality is the way the Earth remains in balance, black and white, right and wrong, love and hate. What side should I fight for when the war finally breaks out? How to choose between my family…and the people who I belong to?

1470938041624rsz_1470934400309

I Hate it! I hate it that I have to wait for the second book. I want to read it ASAP!! Now, that’s out of the way, here’s my review.

I didn’t expect all that happened when I started reading it. It was a nice, intriguing book. I loved Lou. She’s so relatable. The book was normal paced up until 25%. The author took time in world building (that was probably why I didn’t read it in one sitting).

The whole time I found similarities with Harry Potter, Vampire Academy, Hex Hall, even Pride and Prejudice + Beauty and the Beast. BUT, it’s entirely unique in its own way.

Talking about characters: I loved Lou. I loved Charles, Gertrude, Flicka. They’re awesome. Now the certain someone (the evil one). I hated him from the moment he was introduced. I despised him. And I was so happy I was right. Because, at some point I felt like he was nice after all.

And the hero! I AM IN LOVE WITH HIM. I didn’t like him at first. But, then… I fell head over heels in love with him. His story!! OMG. That crushed me. I couldn’t stop reading the book when he made once he began making constant appearances.

I loved the setting. The whole enchanter-human thing. I love elemental magic. I loved how the author showed Lou’s development throughout the book- magic wise, and her feeling to fit in. I love the chemistry between the two. The tension!! I also saw what was coming (the big twist) and then I was a goner.

In last pages, I was really scared it was coming to an end. I wanted more and I know I had to wait for that. In short, this book is one of my top favorite books I read this year. I tried to find faults as a reviewer but I couldn’t. Sometimes, the world setting took too much of explanation and every mention of more chocolates irked me a little (I’m not a dessert fan. I hate chocolates) but other than that, I don’t thing anything was wrong.

In fact, I’m surprised that not many people have read it. THIS BOOK NEEDS MORE READERS! So, if you’re a Paranormal Romance (mixed with magic and Greek mythology) fan, GO AND PICK THIS BOOK. And let me know if you liked it. So, go on read it while I’ll fangirl over my ship.

(The review I posted is completely honest and has nothing to do with the fact I received the book for free.)

rsz_11470934065994